Versailles

Wow! Paris. I can’t believe I didn’t think I wanted to go! It was so amazing. I’ll be making a few posts this week, so stay tuned. But first: my favorite part of the entire trip: Versailles.

I always said that if I did visit France the only thing I cared to see was the Palace of Versailles. I was not disappointed. At all.

I’ve always loved the French Revolution; it was so tragic and horrible and fascinating and while the bourgeoisie suffered the king and queen of France lived in this enormous palace. I couldn’t wait to see it.

SONY DSC

The trip there wasn’t bad at all, my roommates got pretty good at the Metro and we had no problem getting to the palace. At first we thought we wouldn’t be able to find it. Hilarious. We also got in for free! Which is amazing.

SONY DSCSONY DSC

Here’s a model of the palace, I usually don’t care for these but this one was so detailed!

SONY DSC SONY DSC

This is the chapel within the palace. It’s insane that they didn’t even have to leave the building to attend mass.

The things I was most looking forward to seeing was the portrait of Marie Antoinette and her children and the bedrooms of the king and queen. Believe me, they did not disappoint.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

From left to right: Marie’s bed, Louis’ bed, the ceiling of Marie’s room.

SONY DSC

The portrait! Bear with me, in Sophia Coppola’s movie this portrait is very dramatic because originally there was a child in the cradle. Unfortunately it died in infancy, so it was painted over. This portrait was massive and wonderful.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

The view from outside! We were so lucky that the weather stayed nice all day. I can just imagine French court strolling around on the grounds. I think I could have used another day to explore the palace, but our trip was only three days and there were other things to see.

Then we went to the Angelina cafe, on a recommendation to try the hot chocolate.

SONY DSCSONY DSC  SONY DSC

The hot chocolate was expensive and small but so rich. It was practically melted chocolate in a cup. I took these pictures of the eclairs and macaroons, we didn’t try them then (that’s a post for another day), but they looked so photogenic I couldn’t resist.

Here are some miscellaneous pictures:

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Versailles was by far my favorite part of the trip. I would definitely go again just to walk around. It was amazing. I don’t have the words to explain how awesome it was.

Leave a Reply

