Previously on…

Dear Everyone,

I am sorry I’ve been gone for so long. As you might imagine, it is pretty hard to adjust to living in a new country, and work at the same time. So here I am, in Seoul South Korea, and it’s quite literally a one-day-at-a-time situation.

I’ve missed three weeks of US television, which is excruciating, and nearly every English song reminds me of some specific feeling or moment from home. Even memories of the 14 hour plane ride seem sentimental. Ah jeez, how can I even pretend that the homesickness hasn’t hit me? I was good for two weeks, and then BAM here it is. While it’s only temporary, it still feels like a bruise that I can’t help but poke.

Here are some updates. I landed on November 14th, immediately met other Chungdahm trainees at the bus station, and left for the hotel. We all got dinner and surprisingly, I didn’t see several of them for the rest of the week. Training was split into two different groups, and I only saw those who were in my group.

snapchat-1201825134694801811.jpg

Don’t worry, they’re all really cool and weird. I miss them a lot, actually. It’s amazing how something as ridiculous as training for a week straight can bring some people together.

Training was intense, but it could have been much worse. Sure, I had a moment where I thought “Hey this is definitely not for me,” but I passed training (don’t ask, it’s all cool).  I was whisked away to my work location and it was so overwhelming. The building itself is really beautiful, and the people are pretty nice. The atmosphere is supportive, and kind of fun. There have been some stressful moments while teaching, but they’re all things I can work through, for sure.

Look at all of this positivity.

We even celebrated Thanksgiving on Thursday, with all of the usual food. That was a nice touch from home.

Speaking of food, I’ve already fell in love with Korean BBQ and kimbap.

Look at all of that goodness.

I even got to see Pat this past weekend, as he is stationed in a nearby American Army base.

img_20151129_131658.jpg

Woo look at them goofballs.

I will post pictures of my apartment once I actually have anything worthy of photographing.

In regards to that homesick feeling, it’s a lot to handle, especially on my own. If I think about it for too long I just get too upset. But just like in that wonderful movie Brooklyn says, “Homesickness is like most sicknesses, it will pass.”

So here’s to recovering from missing home and continuing this new-found positivity this week…and for the rest of the year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

